Phishing Alert: Quickbooks / Intuit

While not strictly a financial institution fraud, a phishing attack on customer of Intuit's QuickBooks accounting software seeks financial information.

Purportedly from INTUIT INC.
Spoofed e-mail: security@quickbooks.com
Subject: Please update your tax information

Body (verbatim)

Dear Account Holder,

With a view to assure that accurate information is being sustained on our systems, as well as to be able to give you better quality of service; INTUIT INC. has participated in the Internal Revenue Service [IRS] Name and TIN Matching Program.

We have found out, that your name and/or Taxpayer Identification Number, that is specified on your account does not match the data provided by the SSA.

In order for INTUIT INC. to update your account, please click here [link removed]

Regards,

INTUIT INC.

Corporate Headquarters

2632 Marine Way

Mountain View, CA 94043

Link is to an insecure directory at ravenivoire.com.

Concerns: The IRS scheme referred to is genuine. See http://www.irs.gov/govt/tribes/article/0,,id=131207,00.html

Bookmark and Share
eZ Publish™ copyright © 1999-2012 eZ systems as