FI Fraud: Phishing attacks customers of Halifax.
A new fraudulent e-mail purporting to come from an address at "online-document.halifax-online.co.uk" threatens recipients with action relating to alleged credit card defaults. Full copy below.
NB: there are instances of this fraudulent mail being distributed on several occasions during 2010.
Subject line: a new document has arrived
The following document(s) have arrived in your document store:
- 1 statement (If this is for your Paper-free Credit Card statement, payment may
be due. Your statement may also contain Notice of Default Sums) To view your new
document(s) this you are to download the DOCUMENT ATTACHED to this message,
FILL in the REQUIRED details as it is in file, then sign in to the Halifax online service.
**PLEASE DO NOT REPLY TO THIS EMAIL, AS WE WILL NOT BE ABLE TO RESPOND**
*Security - Offering you peace of mind You can access our paper-free service safe in
the knowledge that it uses the highest level of security available.
For further information please visit www.halifax.co.uk/security
Halifax is a division of Bank of Scotland plc. Registered in Scotland No.SC327000.
Registered Office: The Mound, Edinburgh EH1 1YZ.
=================
Note: Halifax and Bank of Scotland are both owned by Lloyds Banking Group, in which the UK Government holds a substantial stake.