• Search:


FI frauds: Egg Bank, UK

A particularly virulent phishing attach was launched against customers of Egg Bank in the past few days with victims being bombarded with multiple copies of the mail. But a further problem is that the spam-scam website name impugns the name of a real person with a real business.

Purportedly from banksecure@new-egg.com

This appears to be either a fraudulent registration. However, it is difficult to confirm this. Searches for registration details resolved to newegg.com - the hyphen is ignored. This means that the unfortunate Chad Glen (that's a person not a place) of California, who has run an online business under the newegg.com domain for almost a decade may come under suspicion because of the activities of the fraudsters.

==============
The following is the fraudulent e-mail

Egg BANK

*Dear Customer,*

* You Have One Unread Message On Your Online Banking Account *

* * * VIEW YOUR MESSAGE
LINK REMOVED*

* * *
*Regards,*
*(c) 1999 - 2010 Egg Bank plc. All rights reserved* *

======================

Due diligence information

The following are the details of the legitimate Chad Chen's registration of newegg.com

NewEgg
Chad Chen
16839 Gale Ave
City of Industry, CA 91748
US
Phone: +1.6262719700
Email: **********@newegg.com

Registrar Name....: Register.com
Registrar Whois...: whois.register.com
Registrar Homepage: www.register.com

Domain Name: new-egg.com
Created on..............: 2002-01-17
Expires on..............: 2015-01-17

Administrative Contact:
NewEgg
Albert Chong
16839 Gale Ave.
City of Industry, CA 91745-1816
US
Phone: +1.6262719700
Email: **********@newegg.com

Technical Contact:
Register.Com
Domain Registrar
575 8th Avenue 11th Floor
New York, NY 10018
US
Phone: 1-902-7492701
Email: ****************@register.com

DNS Servers:
dns018.c.register.com
dns108.b.register.com
dns199.a.register.com
dns010.d.register.com

========================

Bookmark and Share